Kazushi Ono gets the season under way for the OBC


Kazushi Ono conducts the Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona i Nacional de Catalunya (OBC) in the only symphony by Tchaikovsky which, curiously, the orchestra has never performed. A fresh and direct work which includes a polonaise and a waltz, authentic jewels in the work of a composer who, just after presenting it, started working on Swan Lake.

The concert also includes the last great symphonic score by Rachmaninoff, Piano Concerto No. 4, a musical work which he modified on various occasions and which was started in the 1920s after attending the presentation of Gershwin’sRhapsody in Blue. The work will be performed by an undisputed soloist, the pianist Leif Ove Andsnes, recognised with a Gramophone Award precisely for his interpretation of the Russian composer.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.