Primavera Sound

This year’s extensive line-up includes the comeback tour by the Arctic Monkeys; the first visit to the festival by Björk; Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, presenting Skeleton Tree; The National; The War on Drugs; A$AP Rocky; Migos; Lorde and Jane Birkin, who will be singing songs in homage to Serge Gainsborough with an orchestra made up of fifty musicians.

The various stages around the Parc del Fòrum will be offering a wide variety of acts, such as Ensemble of Chicago; Dead Cross with Mike Patton (from Faith No More), and Dave Lombardo (from Slayer); Capullo de Jerez; La Banda Trapera del Río; Sparks; Mike D (offering classics by the Beastie Boys); John Maus and Peter Perrett (from The Only Ones); Fermin Muguruza and The Suicide of Western Culture; Lift to Experience; Madlib; Oumou Sangaré, Watain, and Nils Frahm.

Women artists also feature strongly in this year’s line-up: performances already mentioned by Björk, Jane Birkin and Lorde, as well as Charlotte Gainsbourg, Haim, Fever Ray, Chvrches, Beach House, Warpaint, Lykke Li, Ibeyi, Maria Arnal, Hinds, Waxahatchee, Yonaka, Vagabon, Jorja Smith, Javiera Mena, Jlin, Bad Gyal and Sevdaliza.

The Primavera Sound also offers a complementary programme, consisting of free performances open to everyone in the city, with inaugural concerts by the likes of Belle and Sebastian, Holy Bouncer, Javiera Mena and Wolf Parade on outdoor stages in the Parc del Fòrum on 30 May, or the concerts in Pl. Joan Coromines (CCCB) on Sunday 3 June, with performances by Rhye, Waxahatchee, Fermin Muguruza & The Suicide of Western Culture and Oblivians.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.