Scheherazade and Korngold with Xian Zhang

The grand Chinese director Xian Zhang will be conducting this concert by the violinist Ray Chen and the Barcelona Symphony Orchestra – The National Orchestra of Catalonia (OBC).
The programme starts with Internet Symphony No.1: Eroica, by the Chinese contemporary classical composer Tan Dun, author of the music for the Beijing Olympic Games and renowned creator of soundtracks.
After that comes Violin Concerto in D major Op. 35, by Korngold, the Austrian composer who revolutionised Hollywood film scores. Written in 1947, this is one of the 20th century’s most outstanding violin concertos.
Finally, Rimsky-Korsakov’s most popular symphony, Scheherazade, op.35, evokes the exoticism of fairy-tale adventures and romance in One Thousand and One Nights.

More here:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.